2017 Plans

No need to make a sandwich you guys, no need to make yourselves a coffee or plug into your music while reading, because this post is going to be a short article in comparison with my last few, which are quite a handful if I am totally honest. Before I get started I must point out that this will be my worst article yet for reasons I will go into, but in short I had not the time to proof read nor time to articulate my thoughts like I usually do. This post exists just to let you know that I have not abandoned you, so I hope you enjoy this mess of a post.

It has been pointed out to me recently that I write too much or say too much within each post I publish. Everyone is entitled to their opinion, everyone has their own way of doing things, I respect fair criticism and professional advice, to my mind there is always room for improvement when such comments are sent to me, in a way it is an avenue for growth. I can understand the cons some people have, what with my quantity, but not once has someone criticised the quality of my work, not to say this won’t happen in the future, but so far I feel like I am on the right track, if not, then please speak up and send me an e-mail. In response to the quantity issue, I will simply quote the late Christopher Hitchens, he once said “Never be a spectator of unfairness or stupidity, the grave will supply plenty of time for silence.” Before you start shouting, I am not calling anyone stupid or accusing anyone of being unfair in this case, I want to focus on the last part of the quote because I think it is a great response to the issue I am facing. We get one life, we get one chance to say what we want to say and to do what we want to do. I do this because I want to, because I choose to write in this fashion, if it is too big for some people then so be it, it is too much for you, if it does not sit well with some people, then so be it. Whether my work is read by one person or a million, it does not matter to me, the work I put out for people who are interested are happy to think what they think and it is a great feeling when you inspire, inform and give people joy with what you give them, but I will not conform to what will get me heaps of followers, I will not sell myself in such a way that caters to the majority, I will continue to do this in the way I see fit, until I can no longer do what I do.

Another reason as to why this will be a relatively short post, is because I am actually experiencing a new level of fatigue. Not only have I recently put together and Self-Published the final volume of The Ancestral Odyssey: The Utopian Dream, which can be found on Amazon Kindle for purchase (links will be listed below), while living out of the back of a van with little to no internet and hardly any money to my name, but I have been all over the place, moving from one place to the next, sleeping rough and camping in seriously hot conditions or under tropical rainstorms. I am still figuring out which one is the most uncomfortable but at the moment, I’d have to say it’s the unbearable heat that takes the cake. Its been a tough journey so far in Australia but will all be well worth it later in life when I get the chance to reflect on such experiences. So, to be brief, so far I have gone from one camping ground to the next, working wherever I can to find the best deal, going from picking cherry tomatoes on my knees in the dirt, to cutting lemons out of tall trees, back down to earth to salvage fallen chillies, working with the deadly figs and their poisonous sap which burns should it touch your skin, to lychee, to riding a rig towed by a tractor snatching mangoes out of the trees with scissors attached to a lengthy rod. In order to acquire my second year visa in Australia, I must work 88 days minimum in farming, this entails early 6am starts till late in the afternoon finishes, finishing at around 3pm or longer all week if the farmer needs me to stay, so far I’ve worked for two weeks without a day off. I am being well paid however and I am earning my passage for another year in Oz which is exciting, but never the less, it is still hard work no matter what anyone says, and definitely not what I am used to. I am used to lazy afternoon starts in the wet and windy cold weather, in a bustling City that sells incredible coffee on almost every corner. With all this said, I am learning a lot while working on farms and once again stepping so far outside of my comfort zone that it makes me violently sick. Right now I am in a cafe called Oasis Lounge and I may fetch myself a cold drink before I publish this post, it feels so good to just sit down, to listen to some music and write after so many days work, everything hurts but it is worth it. Now we are up to date, let’s get to the meat of what I want to say, then you can go about your day and do what you do.

I do not have a set routine like I used to, I do not have a concrete schedule like I did when living in Oxford and it takes a significant amount of time to write these articles, check them and publish them after a days work, also I may start an article but in a few days time my situation changes and this leaves me with an outdated article, so I have to stay on top of the work. At the camp site (Childers Sugar Bowl) I do not get any wifi, nor do I get my own space, so I need to borrow my friends car, take a trip into town, find the cafe and begin writing. If you are a writer yourself reading this or are familiar with the creative process, you’ll understand that you cannot just be creative or enter that head space when you want to, most people do not understand this but sometimes staring off into space is actually work for us weirdos, it comes to you at random times, sometimes people in this business spend all day fantasising about plugging in our headphones and nailing a couple of paragraphs or finishing a chapter after work if we’re lucky, but when it comes to it, when we finally sit in silence, we end up just slapping on Youtube watching ‘Fail’ videos, we’ve all done it and if anyone claims otherwise they are LIARS! Today though is different, today I got an article done and I am so very happy for doing so, because travelling while working on many farms takes it out of you a little bit, especially with this heat which I will complain about at every opportunity. A lot has happened since my last post, I released the final instalment I am proud to announce, it was a little late but my editor and I hit the mark and published it within 2016. With the help of my animator Oliver Richards and Emma Charlotte Brown who provided the voice of Isabelle, the trailer was released on Youtube. Please check it out on Youtube or it can be found on my Author Page on Amazon. Links will be provided below if you are interested, a like, a share or a supportive e-mail will always be appreciated, sometimes all it takes is one person to give you the thumbs up that can keep you going for another month. Again, I apologise for my rushed words, I am aware that I am coming off as a bit of a moaner, please do not think less of me.

As 2016 was all about The Utopian Dream, 2017 will all be about Episode Two – The Ancestral Odyssey: Rise of The Black Doves – Volume Four, and I am so pumped for this next instalment, so excited to return to Equis and reveal more of the world, its inhabitants, its complexities and introducing you to a whole new array of characters each with their own stories and journeys. If you have read the first book then you will know that you followed two lead protagonists, Lethaniel and Isabelle who shared the same ultimate goal but went about achieving it in very different ways, Lethaniel being the more strategic and physical, opposed to Isabelle’s spirituality and omnio powers. In Rise of The Black Doves set twenty years later, you follow seven (so far) protagonists and antagonists, a lot will be happening in these next three volumes, I have a lot to cover and more than enough to keep me busy in between travelling. This new book will also certainly expand upon the world, you will visit new places, re-visit older locations and will hopefully be immersed into the web of intricate stories told throughout the new epic fantasy. I plan to approach Episode Two at a different angle, what I mean when I say that is that I do not want to tell the same story twice, instead I want to expand on what made the first one great. The Utopian Dream was huge in the sense that it was essentially a world war, several factions wanted to eradicate Krondathia and the Norkron people, and Lethaniel and Isabelle were on the front lines to thwart this attack, using what skills and powers they had at their disposal, many people died and large portions of populated areas belonging to them were lost. There are some wonderful scenes in the first Episode, scenes I take great pride in, and look forward to some new up and coming scenes. Episode Two will have more, so much more I cannot begin to start detailing, because if I do this article will go on forever, so please trust me when I say, you have not seen anything yet.

2017 will also see the release of a Paperback edition of Episode One. All I need to do is get Volume One edited, then I need to format all three Volumes and see about fitting ALL of the content into one single book. The only reason I decided to lay the first book out into three parts was on the advice of a professional after rejecting my work. The cover to the Paperback has already been done, I am just waiting on the final edit and then the ball can get rolling. In the mean time I must play that game all writers are familiar with and are sick to death of, and that’s the waiting game…God I hate the waiting game! Once I release the Paperback, once I release Episode Two – Volume Four I have more in stock for 2017 besides travelling Australia, as I said in a previous post I still have plans to launch a proper YouTube channel called, Talking with Teque, where I raise discussion with certain topics, topics ranging from anything that interests me, to my book work, to trivial things. For those of you who have been following me, you will know that I love the horror genre, it fascinates me. I’ve been meaning to write a horror story for a long time and when I say a long time I mean for a number years now, but how do you write in a genre that you have never written in before? The trick is to read a few horror books before hand, learn the best way to present horror, to know what really scares most people, to have a vision; How do you get under somebodies skin? How do you make them want to stop reading out of fear for what happens next? How do you create that sense of dread and fear. Also, horror is diverse, coming in many different forms, my favourite being (you guessed it) psychological. So, 2017 will hopefully see the beginnings of a new project separate from The Ancestral Odyssey, I just need to settle down and do the work necessary before 2018 which will see the start of Episode Three – Volume Seven, here’s hoping.

You know what, I think that covers it, told you it would be a short one. Those are my 2017 plans, plans I’ve just spewed out at you in a jumbled mess of paragraphs and random sentences, but that is best I could do when under the pressures of time. This post should have been called; ‘How NOT to write an article on WordPress’ or ‘Do NOT write this way,’ I dread to think how many errors I’ve left behind, I dare not check, it is probably shocking.

Please check out the trailers and the interview found in the links below, and I hope you consider buying my first three Volumes on Kindle from The Amazon Store. If you have any questions, if you would like to see a topic covered in a future article, my e-mail can be found directly below. Thank you so much for reading, have a great day.

E-Mail – taotome@outlook.com

Author Page UK – https://www.amazon.co.uk/Duncan-Gill/e/B01JMZ2BE6/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1484463461&sr=8-1

Author Page AUS – https://www.amazon.com/Duncan-Gill/e/B01JMZ2BE6/ref=sr_ntt_srch_lnk_1?qid=1484463623&sr=8-1

Youtube Channel – https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC-nc_VEmC27AIz6pP51UVkQ

D.W.Gill

Leave a Reply

